The Story    |    The Book    |    The Mission   |    Contact Us   |   Donate   |   

My Life, My Faith, God's Unchanging Love?

The Jimmy Jack story is the life journey of the youngest of nine children set against the turbulent times of the sixties, seventies and eighties. His story weaves a powerful tapestry across those chaotic decades, seen through the eyes of a boy dealing with the wounds his father carried from a WW II P.O.W. camp and the consequences of his mother's leadership in the civil rights movement with Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Subsequent mental breakdowns, rejection by the white community and being raised in a black culture led to interracial marriages and a multi-racial family.

Shock treatments and medication left his parents so sedated that Jimmy was left to fend for himself. The home exploded with a combustible mixture of violence and drug abuse. His dad was committed into a psychiatric ward 3 times and his mom 5 times. With no parental guidance, caught in the whirlwind of the Cultural Revolution, the drum beat of protest, Woodstock and the Vietnam War, as well as the assassinations of Martin Luter King and the Kennedys, the entire family tried to escape through drugs, alcohol and promiscuity. This led his immediate family into 15 divorces, broken dreams, detoured destinies and the AIDS virus that led to several deaths. Jimmy became a hopeless, homeless drug addict and alcoholic.

However, that's not the end of the Jimmy Jack story. The title tells it all - 'I Can Dream Again.' On the threshold of death, he discovered a power greater than he had ever imagined.

Read an excerpt from the book:

Chapter 1 – The Broken Dream
Chapter 2 – "Automatic Jack," A POW Who Made It Back
Chapter 3 – A White Boy In A Black World
Chapter 4 – We Shall Overcome
Chapter 5 – A Cub Scout Gone Bad
Chapter 6 – Looking For Love In All The Wrong Places
Chapter 7 – Jimmy Jack, When Are You Coming Back?
Chapter 8 – Boy, You Have A Messed Up Family
Chapter 9 – Look What The Lord Has Done
Chapter 10 – A Friend That Sticks Closer Than A Brother
Chapter 11 – My Homeboys Become My Armor Bearers
Chapter 12 – The Teen Challenge Miracle
Chapter 13 – The Best Is Yet To Come





Contact Us